Oregon House of Representatives Passes HB 4147 to Limit Default Sales of Firearms

Today, the Oregon House of Representatives passed by 31 - 28 HB 4147 which strengthens Oregon's background check law to reduce the chances of firearms falling into the wrong hands due to paperwork delays.  Under current Oregon law a dealer may sell a firearm even if a background check has not yet been completed after 3 days have passed since initiating the background check request.  This default sale provision in federal law has been termed the "Charleston Loophole" after a shooter was sold a firearm even though the background check had not been completed.  The shooter murdered 9 people in the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, S.C.

HB 4147 extends that default sale prohibition period to 10 business days.  After 10 days the dealer may choose to sell the firearm but may also choose to refuse to sell the firearm unless the background check is completed. The bill also strengthens the requirement for the State Police to notify local law enforcement if they determine a person was prohibited from possessing a firearm and an attempt was made to transfer the firearm.

HB 4147 now heads to the Oregon Senate for consideration.

Below is the Legislative Staff Measure Summary for the bill and a copy of the bill itself.

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/33144

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB4147/A-Engrossed